Welcome to our website!

We are interested in chemical aspects of energy and sustainability, in particular the conversion of solar energy into renewable fuels and value-added chemicals. Thus, electro- and photocatalysis are central to our work at the interface of synthetic chemistry, materials and nano-science, chemical biology and engineering. A central theme is the study and mimicry of natural processes such as plant photosynthesis and enzymes to produce a so-called solar fuel - a sustainable fuel derived from solar energy and an effectively inexhaustible raw material....

Learn more

Meetings 2019

The Faraday Discussions meeting on Artificial Photosynthesis will be hosted in Cambridge from 25th to 27th March 2019. For more information, click here.

The 7th Solar Fuels Network (SFN) Symposium will take place in Cambridge (St. John's College) on the 28th and 29th March 2019. More information to come soon.

What´s new?

September 2018

Qian joins group as Marie Curie postdoctoral fellow. Nick's paper on 'rotating ring disk electrochemistry with Photosystem II' accepted in J. Am. Chem. Soc. (to paper). Virgil's collaborative paper with Dominic Wright and Seb Pike accepted in Adv. Mater. (to paper). Kasia's paper on 'bias-free water splitting with enzyme-powered PEC cell' published in Nature Energy (to paper). Nick's review on 'semi-artificial photosynthesis' published in Nature Nanotechnology (to paper).

August 2018

Taylor's paper on 'photoreforming of waste plastics' published in Energy Environ. Sci. (to paper). Hatice and Demetra's paper on 'photoreforming of biomass with carbon-nitride' accepted in J. Am. Chem. Soc. (to paper).

July 2018

Annika Eisenschmidt receives postdoc fellowship from the German National Academy of Sciences (Leopoldina) and she will join us in October. Chanon Pornrungroj receives PhD scholarships from the Cambridge Trust and Trinity College (Henry Barlow Scholarship) and will also join us in October.
More News

Department of Chemistry

University of Cambridge

Lensfield Road, Cambridge